An EPIC Thanks for an EPIC Party

Tuesday, November 15th, 2011

Gary and DarrylThank You to Everyone Who Supported EPIC’s Annual Meeting and Fall Celebration!!

On Friday, November 4, the Environmental Protection Information Center (EPIC) celebrated 34 years of advocacy for wild forests and endangered species on the North Coast of California.  Hundreds of EPIC members and supporters gathered within the warm embrace of the Mateel Community Center to dine, to dance, and celebrate community through EPIC’s annual membership meeting.

As a highlight to the evening, the 2011 Richard Gienger Sempervirens Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to the one and only Darryl Cherney for his lasting contributions in environmental advocacy.  Cherney’s work includes over 25 years dedicated to social change, artistic expression, and wild forest protection on the North Coast.

Also, during the awards ceremony, Kelly Karaba was granted the 2011 Volunteer Award, for her “tremendous dedication to EPIC’s outreach strategies, high attention to detail, and her peace of mind and calm attitude.” Thanks Kelly! Your positive influence on the organization is felt by us everyday!

The music of the evening was tremendous. Josephine Johnson provided a beautiful acoustic touch to the dinner gathering, and then Fishtank Ensemble rocked the night away with their dynamic gypsy sounds and theatrical antics.

We want to extend a huge thank you to Tryphena Lewis and all of her volunteer kitchen staff for preparing a delicious Mediterranean feast for nearly 200 people!

During the Annual Meeting portion of the evening EPIC’s 2012 Board of Directors was confirmed. We are sorry to see Cecilia Lanman relinquish her seat with the EPIC Board. We are grateful and appreciative of the years of service that she offered to EPIC and her community and we are honored to have had the chance to collaborate with and learn from her. Thank you, Cecilia for your tireless dedication to EPIC.

The EPIC Board currently consists of the following people:

  • Heather Reese (President)
  • Noah Levy (Vice Pesident)
  • Shawnee Alexandri (Treasurer)
  • Josh Brown (Secretary)
  • Lindsey Holm (Member)
  • Joan Merriman (Member/newly elected)
  • Dian Griffith (Member/Staff)
  • Gary Graham Hughes (Ex-oficio/Executive Director)

Thank you to all of the businesses and artisans that support EPIC:

  • Amelia’s Bakery
  • American Hydroponic
  • Arcata Artisans
  • Baroni Designs
  • Bayfront Grill
  • Beachcomber Café
  • Bead Supply—Arcata
  • Blue Moon Gift Shop
  • Bootleg
  • Brass Rail
  • Bubbles
  • Carter House Inn
  • Chautauqua Natural Foods
  • Eel River Brewery
  • Elk Prairie Vineyards
  • Erin Rowe Mediation Services
  • Eureka Natural Foods
  • Flood Plain Farms
  • Finnish Country Spas and Saunas
  • Fire and Light Glassware
  • Frey Vineyards
  • Gardin’ of Beadin
  • Hana Sushi
  • Hands of Time Massage
  • Holly Yashi
  • Hot Knots
  • Humboldt Glassblowers
  • Humboldt Herbals
  • Humboldt Hunnies Day Spa
  • Humboldt Nutrients
  • Inn of the Lost Coast
  • Island Tribe Apparel
  • Jessica Puccinelli
  • Joan Dunning
  • Kathleen Bryson
  • Klamath Rafting
  • KMUD
  • Kyoto Sushi
  • Lamport Legal Services
  • Larrupin
  • Larry Eifert
  • Libation Wines
  • Liscom Hill
  • Mama Palazzo
  • Many Hands Gallery
  • Mateel Café
  • Mateel Community Center
  • Michael Guerrero
  • Morning Star Clothing
  • Pacific Lotus
  • Patty Senot
  • Pacific Outfitters
  • Peggy Loudon
  • Peter Powell Wines
  • Picky Picky Picky
  • Pierson’s Building Supply
  • Pleasure Center
  • Pro Sports
  • Redway Liquour
  • Redwood Curtain Brewery
  • Rustic West Trading Co.
  • Rookery Bookstore
  • San Francisco Giants Baseball
  • Scoop’s Ice Cream
  • Scotia Inn
  • ShopSmart in Redway
  • Signature Coffee
  • Simply Mac
  • Solutions
  • Soul to Soul Footbar
  • Sylvandale Garden Supply
  • The Minor Theater
  • Three Foods Café
  • Tides Inn
  • Tomas Jewelry
  • Tomo Sushi
  • Trees Foundation
  • Trim Scene Solutions
  • Trinidad Trading Company
  • Turtle Rocks B&B
  • Wildberries Marketplace
  • Wildwood Music

Please consider these businesses when you are making choices about supporting sustainability in your community! The generosity of these companies in supporting our organization is invaluable to our being able to do the work that we do, THANK YOU!

Thank you to all of the volunteers who made the night possible:

  • Aaron Jefferson
  • Bridgette BishopEPIC Supporters
  • Bryce
  • Dan Brenner
  • Hillary
  • Jeri Fergus
  • Joan Merriman
  • Kelly Karaba
  • Leo Power
  • Lynn Ryan
  • Mitra Abidi
  • Noel Soucy
  • Rick Silva
  • Rob Fishman
  • Sierra Spooner
  • Steven Diamon
  • Susie Silva
  • Sylvia DeRooy
  • Taun Moody
  • Tom Hart
  • Victor Reuther

Our volunteers are the heart and soul of EPIC, THANK YOU!

Thank you to everyone who helped make our 34th Annual Meeting and Fall Celebration a total success. It really was a firecracker of a party! Watch for our schedule of events for 2012, we will be sure to get everyone together again to celebrate our Wild California!